From wantrepreneur to entrepreneur

As a child, I remember having different business ideas and thinking of ways I could solve other people’s problems. My ideas included things like being a tailor who would make clothes customized to different body types. I was always short and skinny and had a hard time finding clothes that flattered my body type so I wanted to address this issue. Another business idea I had was to be a wedding planner, who would find economical ways of making wedding dreams a reality.  I also dreamt of opening a gym. But not just any gym, one that allowed people to book private rooms so they could work out in a place they felt comfortable but had access to any equipment or support they needed.

Somehow life got in the way of my business dreams. I went away to school and then found myself in one good job that led to the next. I have to admit, I’ve been given some amazing opportunities. But none of them have brought me fulfilment. And some, no matter how great the opportunity, made me miserable.

A few years ago, my husband and I started investing in real estate and learning about the different strategies. The freedom to make our own decisions, to be creative with our business and to reap the rewards was liberating. It changed my view of my career and it inspired me. So late last year, I decided it was time to free that entrepreneurial spirit in me and I started my own career services business. Going from wantrepreneur to entrepreneur has been the best decision of my life. I love calling my own shots. I love having an idea, executing it and then seeing it through or deciding to dump it. There’s a lot of hard work involved. It’s still a baby business but every single day, I work on it to take it just one step further.

If you’ve been a wantrepreneur for years, it’s time to go after your dream. What step can you take today?

 

4 thoughts on “From wantrepreneur to entrepreneur

  1. This is a beautiful and inspiring post! I love the title, it’s so creative and really grabs your attention. Best of luck on you new endeavors, I know you’ll go far!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Inspiring, thanks Conny. Out of interest, did the real estate investment provide you with the freedom to start your own business? I’d love to know how you were able to take the leap and start your own business, and how it’s going. FYI I’ve recently set out on a similar journey so is great to hear from like-minded people. I’m blogging too if you’re interested at https://diaryofawantrepreneur.com.

    Like

    1. Thank you Liam! I believe the biggest keys to success is having the right mindset and committing to the process. This is something I challenge myself to work on everyday – clearing my limiting beliefs and also being authentically me and to keep going even when feeling defeated. Things are going well – I’ve changed direction a couple of times and I’m sure I’ll continue to do so for awhile. I’m going to follow your blog so I can watch as your journey unfolds as well. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

