Time is ticking

I like taking time to reflect and evaluate whether I’m on track to living the life I had planned for myself. In some ways, I’m living far better than I had imagined or dreamed of. And in other ways, I’m so far behind in where I thought I’d be by now. 

One major sticking point has been my career. I’ve been really blessed with some great opportunities in life. I’ve learned and grown a lot since finishing college. And I’ve met some great people along the way. But I’ve been struggling with this one huge goal of mine and that is to be a full-time entrepreneur. Don’t get me wrong, I have amazing bosses, and a supportive and great work environment, but I’m still working 9-5 Monday through Friday. I look forward to the evenings and weekends where I come alive for my own business. 

I often think about how as I wish Monday through Friday away, life is passing me by. I’m spending 5 days a week just living for 2. I’ve had friends pass away, sometimes suddenly, or friends or family members whose lives have changed in an instant due to an accident, illness or tragedy and this pushes me to keep chasing my dreams. These are reminders that there are no guarantees in life. I don’t want to look back on my life wishing I had the courage to pursue my goals so I listen intently for the loud ticking of the clock to motivate me to keep going. 

I’m grateful that I have the health, resources and support as I create the life I want. Is there something you’ve always wanted but are waiting for the right time? If so, that time is right now.

2 thoughts on “Time is ticking

  1. Hey! I’m visiting you via your comment on community pool! Just wanted to say I really relate to this post. I’ve been working for the better part of a year to get to a point where I can leave my full time job and pursue my own things full time. It’s been a long road, and sometimes I feel like it will never end. But I know that if we keep working towards what we want, one day we will get there, my friend.
    Carry on! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

