Why living in the past, gets me nowhere fast

Unsplash - Austin Schmid

Who knew that personal development took so much work and energy. Changing my belief systems, sorting through my emotional baggage, and showing up as my true self has been an ongoing process.

Yesterday I found myself in a mood. A really ugly angry and frustrated mood. I wanted to scream and throw a big temper tantrum at how unfair things are and why things haven’t worked out quite as I’ve planned. So I let myself go through most of the day ranting and raving to my closest friends about how terrible my life is.

Then it hit me. I have been living in the past. I had been going over past failures and past regrets. I was thinking about past arguments and rehashing them in my mind, only to feel worse. I was telling myself I’m not where I should be and blaming others for where I am.

I had totally disempowered myself. There is not a single thing I can do to change my past, except to change my perception of it.

Today is a new day! Everything that happened before this very moment, has no bearing anymore, I can’t go back and change it. So from now on I am choosing to look to the future. To let go of past wrongs, past hurts and past regrets.

Do you live in the past or are you living for the future? Leave me a comment.

Leave a Reply

